The Push for 1,000 and Trade Me Your Pat Burrells!

A few days ago, I received my 975th different Pat Burrell card in the mail.  If you’re familiar with the early days of this blog, you might recognize it.  After almost two months of waiting, this card finally arrived from the guy who purchased the Frank Thomas cards.

2003 Playoff Portraits Materials Bronze #24B 087/100

scan0001

I have to say that this card is pretty high up on the weirdest cards of the decade list, at least for me.  This is the front, with a nice artistic rendering of a picture of Pat.  The card is textured with brush strokes, to mimic a painting.  None of that is really all that uncommon, but this is:

scan0002

There’s a jersey bit on this card…on the back.  I don’t get it.  I guess Donruss didn’t want to squish the picture on the front, but it’s not even really worth putting a jersey on this card.  What’s even worse is that there is also an autograph parallel, similar to this card, with the sig on the back in the same cut-out.  What a terrible idea, all in the name of squeezing the jerseys and autographs into the set!  Anyway, that’s card #975 in my Pat Burrell collection.

Now, despite, the blahness of that card, I’m very excited about reaching 975 different cards because it means I’m closing in on the 1,000 card mark.  To get me there a little faster, I’m going to run my very first contest!  I will be updating the 2003-2006 Burrell wantlists over the next few days so that everyone will know exactly which cards I do not have.  Here are the prizes for the contest:

Anyone who sends me a new Pat Burrell card will receive five cards of their favorite player in return, if my collection cooperates.  If I don’t have those cards, I will do my best to find something you will enjoy.

Anyone who sends me a new Pat Burrell serial numbered cards will receive three serial numbered cards of their favorite team (once again, collection willing) plus the five favorite player cards.

Anyone who sends a new jersey or bat or wall or jockstrap will receive two hits of their favorite team plus the serial numbered cards and the base cards of their favorite player.

Anyone who finds a new autograph, will receive one or two autographs plus everything from the relic level prizes.

And the grand prize, which will go to whomever sends me card #1,000, will be everything above plus another autograph from your favorite team.  The grand prize will be awarded regardless of the level of card received.

3 Responses to The Push for 1,000 and Trade Me Your Pat Burrells!

  1. […] to enter the Push for 1,000 […]

  2. Edgar says:

    Hi,

    I have some of Pat’s first releases serial numbered #1 /out of ?? are you interested in them?

  3. Edgar says:

    Hi,

    I have some of Pat’s first releases serial numbered #1 /out of ?? are you interested in them?
    Edgar
    wstj8@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

