A Plethora of Numbered Burrells and Odd Faces

A few weeks ago, I realized that I finally had the time to start a card blog now that I’ve finished my master’s degree.  I got kind of excited.  For me excitement leads to searching eBay stores for low priced cards that I need for my collections.  Over the last couple of days, my bounty has started to roll in.  I’ll show off the Burrell base and numbered cards today and save the hits for tomorrow and other random cards for Monday.  Onward!

2001 Private Stock Gold Portraits #89 21/75

2001 Private Stock Gold 21/75

This card fills one of the many holes left by Pacific over the 1999-2001 timeframe.  It’s nearly impossible to track these things down.  There’s a ton of low-numbered parallels but nobody ever opened this crap to find them.  If I have one card left in my quest, it will probably be one of those Pacific parallels.  Overall, not a bad little card:  lots of gold foil, serial number on the front, Pat’s old #33 on the shoulder.  As a bonus, he’s playing first base, a spot he would mostly occupy until the Phillies traded Curt Schilling for Travis Lee and spare parts.  Unfortunately, the fielding crouch and the squinty eyes make Pat look like he’s taking a dump.  The back of the card isn’t any better in that respect:

2001 Private Stock Gold back

Next up, I found a couple of parallels from 2002 Donruss Best of Fan Club:

2002 Donruss Best of Fan Club Spotlight #11 096/100

2002 Donruss Best of Fan Club Spotlight #299 FC 031/100

2002 FC Fronts

2002 FC Backs

I don’t know too much about this set except that there’s a less chrome-y version called just Donruss Fan Club.  I’m still working on the parallels to that set, but Best of Fan Club is now put to bed.  The only difference between the base version of #11 and the Spotlight version appears to be the word Spotlight in the upper righthand corner.  Card #299 has the same difference, but the base card has a bit of refraction that the Spotlight version does not.  The cards look pretty good in person, although they scan like crap.  Once again, Pat is making a bit of a constipated face on the back of both of these cards.  Who picks these pictures?

2002 Fleer Box Score Miniatures #14 1215/2950

2006 Allen & Ginter Mini A and G Back #184

Minis front

The Fleer Box Score card is a miniature parallel of the base card, and there’s parallel of the mini numbered to 100 copies.  The minis are a bit wider but shorter than your typical Allen & Ginter tobacco card size mini.  The A&G mini features the A&G back, the second least difficult parallel to find.  I have a feeling that I will never open a box of 2006 or 2007 A&G just because of the ridiculous prices sellers are getting for them now.  I’ll just try to piece together the Phillies team set.

2003 Donruss Team Heroes Glossy #382

2003 Fleer Tradition TL #22

Donruss Team Heroes

The Team Heroes card is a one per pack parallel which just happens to feature the sweet powder blues from the late ’70s.  The Team Leaders card from 2003 Tradition is a bit depressing, considering who the Phillies relied on as their aces in 2002.  The card does commemorate Pat’s best season, when he was heralded as the next Mike Schmidt.

2003 Topps Gallery Artist’s Proofs #76

2003 Topps Gallery

I had never seen any version of this card in person before today.  All I can say is that this is a very unflattering painting of Burrell.  Where’s the right side of his face?

2005 Donruss Elite Aspirations #113 16/95

Donruss Elite

I love the way this card scanned.  The scan caught all of that great refractoriness.  The Aspirations line of Donruss Elite is numbered to 100 minus the player’s jersey number, in Burrell’s case 5.  There’s another parallel, Status, which is numbered to the player’s jersey number.  Burrell Status cards are impossible to find, but these Aspirations are comparatively plentiful.  The oddest thing about this card is that it’s wider than the average card.  The die-cuts on the left stick out maybe an 1/8th of an inch.  These cards are on reason Donruss should get its license back.

2006 Fleer Tradition Black and White #130

Tradition

This is a nice parallel of the last Fleer Tradition set.  These cards came one in every nine hobby packs.  I love this design and the simple parallel idea of a black and white photo.  It goes very well with the retro theme of the set.  I got this for less than a dollar delivered, so I’m pretty happy with it.

2008 Topps Triple Threads Gold #75 81/99

2008 Upper Deck Heroes Emerald #137 231/499

2008 Parallels

A couple of 2008 parallels.  I’m not a fan of Triple Threads but it’s nice to find this card.  On the other hand, I absolutely love Heroes.  The parallels, though confusing, look absolutely fantastic.  The base set and the nearly identical parallel set numbered to 299 look like crumpled brown paper bags.  I’m half-heartedly attempting to complete a set of the red versions numbered to 249, so if you have any you want to unload, shoot me an e-mail.

Finally we have a card I’ve been chasing for a few months now:

2009 Topps Heritage Chrome Refractors #C92 212/560

THCR92

Like pretty much every other blogger, I love Topps Heritage and 1960 Topps was one of the first vintage sets that I started collecting a few years ago.  Naturally, 2009 Heritage is a favorite product of mine.  This is the last of Burrell’s cards that I needed from the set.  I still have to track down the three promo ad panels featuring him though.  Unfortunately, this picture looks like the chrome version, but trust me it’s the refractor.

I hope you enjoyed looking over today’s haul as much as I have.  Come back tomorrow afternoon for a round of hits.

One Response to A Plethora of Numbered Burrells and Odd Faces

  1. […] is one of the few Burrell close-ups I have seen from this era in which he doesn’t have the squinty eyes and open mouth.  What’s that you say?  Check the […]

Leave a Reply

